Dutch topology on the Double – טופולוגיה הולנדית בשנייה

הולנד…מדינה כה קטנה. היא דומה בגודלה לישראל אבל יש במדינה זו פי 2-וחצי תושבים. הולנד  מחולקת ל-12 מחוזות. לכל אחד מהמחוזות יש עיר בירה. על המפות בהמשך כתובים שמותיהם של המחוזות וליד כל כוכב כתוב שם עיר הבירה של אותו מחוז. לדוגמה: אמסטרדם, עיר הבירה של הולנד כולה, נמצאת במחוז “צפון-הולנד”, כאשר העיר הרלם היא עיר הבירה של המחוז! ואם   נשמע לך מוכר השם

“הרלם”, כן, הרלם שבניו יורק, קרוי על שם הרלם בהולנד על ידי המתיישבים ההולנדיים דאז.
כמה מוזר שהמחוז בו נמצאת אמסטרדם, הקרוי “צפון-הולנד”, בכלל לא בצפון??
וכנ’ל ב-דרום-הולנד.:-)

בתפריט הבלוג שלנו נחלק את הולנד ל-4 חלקים על מנת לשייך ולתייג מקומות ואירועים שאנו כותבות עליהם לאזור טופולוגי מצומצם יחסית, כדי שלא תקלעו לנסיעות ארוכות בטיול שלכם אחר כך. החלוקה לפי הסימון הירוק הבא
(צפון (3 מחוזים
(דרום (2 מחוזים
(מזרח (2 מחוזים
(מערב (3 מחוזים
(מרכז (2 מחוזים

 הערה לגבי המחוז זיילנד, במישור החוף הדרומי של הולנד: אמנם כללנו אותו בתפריט ב”מערב”, זמני הנסיעה ארוכים ביחס למרחקים באזור זה. המרחק מאמסטרדם לעיר הבירה של מחוז זיילנד (מידלבורג) רק 170 קמ’, אך זמני הנסיעה בדרך כלל לא מתחת לשעתיים וחצי בגלל עומס תנועה. הכביש לכיוון הזה עובר על סכרים גדולים וגם זה לא מוסף לעומס התנועה.


The NetherlandsThe LowlandsNederlandHet Koninkrijk der Nederlanden…so many names for such a tiny country:-)

Holland is divided into 12 provinces. Each of these provinces has a capital. On the map underneath you can find the names of all the provinces and next to the stars, the provinces capitals: For instance, Amsterdam, the capital of the whole country, is located in the province of  “Noord-Holland” (North-Holland), while “Haarlem” is the provincial capital of that province. (and in case you were wondering; yes, “Harlem” New York is named after “Haarlem” Holland by Dutch settlers)
By the way, isn’t it funny (read; confusing) that “North-Holland” is not actually in the north of Holland and that “South-Holland” (with Rotterdam in it and The Hague as its provincial capital) is not actually in the south?:-)

On our site menu we divide Holland roughly into 4 parts; North (yes, the actual northern provinces of Holland), South (yep, the actual south), East and West. This way you will be able to read about places and events that take place in a certain area of Holland, and you’ll be able to plan your trip well without having to drive around too much so….check out these highly sophisticated topological maps with professionally applied green circles and arrows…


A remark concerning the costal area: Let’s say you want to drive from Amsterdam to Middelburg, the capital of the southern costal province Zeeland and spend a couple of days at the beach. Even though the distance is a mere 170 km., it will take you approx. 2 1/2 hours to get there. It’s often busy on that road and there are water works you drive over which sometimes cause additional traffic jams.


Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
0 Comment authors
Recent comment authors

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

newest oldest most voted
Notify of

[…] two tree huts are in the North of Holland. (the name of the province is Friesland, see map “north” from one of our previous […]


[…] over water between the West and the North of Holland. In the North of Holland, in the province of Friesland, you can find many treasures, such as […]